Shapechange

March 6, 2023

9th-level transmutation

Casting Time: 1 action

Components: VSM a jade circlet worth at least 1,500 gp, which
you must place on your head before you cast the spell

Range: Self

Duration: Concentration, up to 1 hour

You assume the form of a different creature for the duration.
The new form can be of any creature with a challenge rating
equal to your level or lower. The creature can’t be a construct
or an undead, and you must have seen the sort of creature at
least once. You transform into an average example of that
creature, one without any class levels or the Spellcasting
trait.

Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the
chosen creature, though you retain your alignment and
Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You also retain all
of your skill and saving throw proficiencies, in addition to
gaining those of the creature. If the creature has the same
proficiency as you and the bonus listed in its statistics 1is
higher than yours, use the creature’s bonus in place of yours.
You can’'t use any legendary actions or lair actions of the new
form.

You assume the hit points and Hit Dice of the new form. When you
revert to your normal form, you return to the number of hit
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points you had before you transformed. If you revert as a result
of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to
your normal form. As long as the excess damage doesn’t reduce
your normal form to O hit points, you aren’t knocked
unconscious.

You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or
other source and can use them, provided that your new form is
physically capable of doing so. You can’t use any special senses
you have (for example, darkvision) unless your new form also has
that sense. You can only speak if the creature can normally
speak.

When you transform, you choose whether your equipment falls to
the ground, merges into the new form, or 1is worn by it. Worn
equipment functions as normal. The GM determines whether it 1is
practical for the new form to wear a piece of equipment, based
on the creature’s shape and size. Your equipment doesn’t change
shape or size to match the new form, and any equipment that the
new form can’t wear must either fall to the ground or merge into
your new form. Equipment that merges has no effect in that
state.

During this spell’s duration, you can use your action to assume
a different form following the same restrictions and rules for
the original form, with one exception: if your new form has more
hit points than your current one, your hit points remain at
their current value.



